Saint Teresa

Teresa of Jesus was born in Ávila, where she spent most of her life, started the Carmel reform, wrote The Book of her Life, The Way of Perfection and finished The Interior Castle. In Alba de Tormes, she founded her eighth convent (1571) , where she returned in 1582, sick to death, to end her journey in the Earth.

This route links these two essential places through different teresian locations: 

  • Gotarrendura, where she lived in her childhood.
  • Fontiveros,(where Saint John of the Cross was born.
  • Duruelo, where the reform of the Carmelite friars started, following Teresa’s advice .
  • Mancera de Abajo, where the first foundation from Duruelo was moved.

“It is time to walk"
Teresa ofJesus

El Oso Ruta Teresiana

By walking throuth this route, we invite you to admire the landscapes where Teresa and John’s lifes were  developed.

The Book of the Foundations, written by Saint Teresa, can be a good guide to walk with you.

The Way of Perfection, and The Book of her Life, will help you to find your own interior path.